Star Alliance outlines next stage of Heathrow moves

With more space now being available at Heathrow Terminal 1, ‘Star Alliance’ is preparing to implement the next stage of its ‘Move under one Roof’ (MuoR) strategy, which will see current Terminal 2 carriers Austrian, Croatia Airlines, Lufthansa, SWISS and TAP relocate to Terminal 1 this summer.

A new common and ‘Star Alliance’ branded check-in area will welcome passengers – after check-in, they can pass through a separate security line located directly behind the check-in area, which will also feature ‘Fast Track’ for top-tier customers.

Once the next phase of the move is completed, the 21 ‘Star Alliance’ member carriers serving Heathrow (19 ‘Star Alliance’ member carriers and two regional member carriers, Blue1 and Croatia Airlines) will be nearly evenly split between Terminals 1 and 3, making ‘Star Alliance’ the largest alliance operating out of the core Central Area at Heathrow.

The ‘Star Alliance’ network was established in 1997 as the first truly global airline alliance to offer customers worldwide reach and a smooth travel experience. The members are Air Canada, Air China, Air New Zealand, ANA, Asiana Airlines, Austrian, bmi, EGYPTAIR, LOT Polish Airlines, Lufthansa, Scandinavian Airlines, Shanghai Airlines, Singapore Airlines, South African Airways, Spanair, SWISS, TAP Portugal, Turkish Airlines, THAI, United and US Airways. Regional member carriers Adria Airways (Slovenia), Blue1 (Finland) and Croatia Airlines enhance the global network. Air India, Brussels Airlines, Continental Airlines and TAM have been announced as future members.

Posted in News